Jun
9
5:00 PM17:00

Politics & Prose, Washington DC

In a literary career spanning fifteen novels, a memoir, and thirty books for children, not to mention chairing the PEN/Faulkner Foundation and founding George Mason University’s MFA creative writing program, Shreve has earned a reputation for elegant prose, deep insight into human experience, and engaging, empathetic storytelling. Her new novel is a rich family drama that opens as Georgianna Grove, the septuagenarian matriarch, receives a letter that compels her to return to her childhood home. No idyll, Missing Lake, Wisconsin, was the place where Georgianna’s father killed her mother sixty-six years earlier. Determined at last to uncover the truth about the tragedy that has haunted her all her life, Georgianna embarks on a risky expedition to the past—one involving a canoe trip up the treacherous Bone River.

View Event →
Jun
5
7:00 PM19:00

Barnes & Noble: Upper East Side, Manhattan

A daughter must untangle a web of bigotry, loss, and half-forgotten memories to finally understand her mother's mysterious death. More News Tomorrow is a stirring portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth. Author Susan Richards Shreve, celebrated for her explorations of parent-child relationships, will join us to discuss along with fellow family-focused author Hilma Wolitzer. 

View Event →
Jun
3
7:00 PM19:00

The Ivy Bookshop in Baltimore

The Ivy Bookshop welcomes Susan Shreve to talk about her family drama More News Tomorrow. For readers of Anne Tyler and Sue Miller, More News Tomorrow  is an immersive portrait of family secrets, and how race, loss, and history can derail a family.

Susan Richards Shreve is the author of fifteen previous novels, a memoir, and thirty books for children. She is a former president and present co-chairman of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation. A Guggenheim Award recipient, she lives in Washington, DC.

View Event →